Preparations

Tomorrow I say good-bye to my bike, as it is off to the shop for a tune up and then being sent to San Diego, California. We met on October 28, 2013, and I rode my first 10 miles in preparation for the Ride Across America. Fall and winter have been a test of my durability, patience and ability to dress warm. Despite the weather, my bike and I have bonded and I will meet up with her again on the West Coast on March 5.
So for the next 2 weeks I will taper and ride a stationary bike to maintain my endurance. It is in many ways like my marathon training of days gone by; the work is done, now is the time to stay focused and let your body rest. Though I don’t always listen to my advice to others, I know that rest days can be just as important as the days you train. I will close with that advice.
May we all listen.
Leave a Reply

