Day 12: Wheeeeee!

So, remember the really straight white line on the road with the fans blowing in my face that I was following in Arizona a few days ago in my blog? It went on and on?
Well, it was back today from Safford, Arizona and continued to Lordsburg, New Mexico, for 75 miles.

Day12-2
Except today the fans were blowing at my back.  Wow, I was peddling up to 27 mph on a flat road.  Wheeeeeeeee!!!  Lots of desert beauty–God’s creation–and lots of beer bottles, glass and trash–MAN’s creation.  Lots of signs in NM about DWI’s–must be a big problem.
My legs felt good today so they will be ready for our climb tomorrow to Silver City and then a rest day.
Now today’s Alzheimer’s story: I got up to call Tony Macrini at WNIS at 4:30am my time, and did a live spot about my ride.  I talked about the ugly Alzheimer’s disease and yes, Tony, riding on a bike saddle hour after hour can be challenging!!! The price I pay to spread the word..
Well, I started talking to the front desk clerk at our Days Inn. Danica told me her grandmother and two aunts had Alzheimer’s. I gave her my blog card and she donated online to my ride today. Thank you, Danica!  Even in a small mining town in Arizona, a lovely young desk clerk is touched enough donate to a total stranger. Bless you Danica!

Day12-1 Day12-3 Day12-4
Another day, another story, another mile a day closer to Florida 😊
With love,
Rona

Please Donate!  Click or send a check to:

Alzheimer’s Association Southeastern Virginia

6350 Central Ave #102

Norfolk, VA 23502

$5498 of my $10,000 goal achieved!  THANK YOU!!

4 thoughts on “Day 12: Wheeeeee!

  1. Rona
    Another day, another dollar .!! Good for you. Like I said maybe you need to put a $BUCK BASKET ON YOUR BIKE, 🙂
    I will be glad when you have a day of rest! You are doing an awesome job!!! So very proud !! Have a good night’s sleep. Love, Jamie
    E is keelping up too:)

  2. It always amazes me that you meet people on a regular basis that share your
    story.Thats what enriches all of us, being able to help others. And Rona, you
    do that the best. Love,Judy

  3. What a great way to bring awareness to ALZ.! Enjoy your day of rest before you are back on the road again.

    Stay safe.

    Nancy S.

Leave a Reply

