Day 14: A welcome day of rest

puppy1

I am relaxing today–something many of you know is hard for me but, hey!  I AM BIKING ACROSS AMERICA!!!  Makes me tired thinking about it!

My blog on this rest day is about the thing my Dad told me before he died 4 years ago. “Rona, if you are not grateful, you will never be happy.” I always thought I was a grateful person, but my amazing Dad’s words play in my mind every day over and over again. We can never be too grateful. Even in the darkest of times, there is something to be grateful for in life.

If you are reading this blog, please stop and think of what you are grateful for at this moment.

Each of you that have read my blogs have enriched my life by taking your precious time to follow my journey.  Many people have done what I am doing, though maybe not for Alzheimer’s.  It does not make me special; it makes me grateful.
When I finish this journey, God willing, I pray I will be a better person.
Continue to reflect on the blessings of our lives. I will take the strength you are giving me and PAY IT FORWARD every chance I can.

With love, respect and a grateful heart,
Rona

7 thoughts on “Day 14: A welcome day of rest

  1. Thanks for your inspirational blog today. Glad you had a day of rest to reflect.

    You’ll be back on the bike tomorrow so be careful and enjoy the ride.

    Nancy S.

  2. One of the many things i’m grateful for is you. We have shared many good & difficult times together. And you’ve always been there for me. Please know that i’m there for you all the way on this incredible journey . GO RONA!!!!

  3. Hi Rona! I am so proud of you and what you are doing! I am sharing your blog with all my fb friends and talking it up at our work too! Hope you enjoyed your well earned rest today!!! I know you will meet/exceed your $10,000 goal!!! God bless you! I will of course continue to pray for your safety and all the women riding with you. You are a blessing, no doubt, to each and every person who has the pleasure of crossing your path on this journey! As you continue to leave your foot prints (well I mean tire tracks!) across America, know that you are leaving deposits of love and hope to each person you meet! Ride on Rona !!!
    “Be watchful, stand firm in your faith, be courageous, be strong. Let all that you do be done in love.” 1Corinth. 16:13-14
    Carolyn M.

  4. Rona
    So glad you finally had a rest day!
    I’m Grateful that we are friends and
    I am a true believer that everyone needs to practice “paying it forward” as often as we can. Thank you for sharing your father’s words.
    Truly made me stop and think about all the things that I have that make me grateful. Take time to stop and smell the Roses on
    your trip. Thinking of you a lot.
    Enjoy your ride today. Love, Jamie

  5. You make me think of the things we have to be grateful for…good health, wonderful children, precious grandchildren, sunny days, beautiful music and SPECIAL FRIENDS.
    As the saying goes, “You can pick your friends, but you can’t pick your relatives!”
    I’m so grateful to my Kasey for bringing you into my life.
    Enjoy Shabbot!!! Love, Jo

Leave a Reply

