Day 15: The ups and the downs

Wow, we left Silver City and rode to Kingston, NM. Oh, but it was not so simple, my friends. We went from 6000 ft in Silver City…up, then down, then up..Up..UP ………..climbing at 7mph, but steady. Now, when we reached the Emory pass peak at 8225 ft, we had an 8 mile steep downhill to Kingston back to 6200 ft. Now *that* was a blast.  I was in control flying at 26-36 mph downhill! Day15-2 I celebrated reaching the peak with push-ups–it was a rush of adrenaline! Day15-1 We are staying at an old lodge which once served as a lodge for miners in the 1800’s tonight. Day15-3 Well my feet are up and I am sitting in a rocker and reflecting on my challenging ride but blessed day.  My body feels like I did a 48 mile mountain climb.  Even my email finger is tired, so till tomorrow my friends. But thank you for all your amazing support–I am never too tired for that!!! Oh, I thought of you all at mile 35 when I was a couple of miles from the top.  “You raise me up!” Fundraising to date: $5713 Goal $10,000 Donate online or send checks to Alzheimer’s Association 6350 Center Dr Suite 102 Norfolk Va. All donations benefit the Alzheimer’s Association’s Walk to End Alzheimer’s.

3 thoughts on “Day 15: The ups and the downs

  1. You are so amazing not only mentally but physically~ after such a hard ride and you are still thinking of others! We wish we were could be right along each road cheering you along with signs & banners (of course I would be taking pictures) but we are there in spirit!! You are awesome Rona!! Thank you for riding for a cure for Alzheimer’s! May God give you the strength & courage to trust your instincts & carry on your efforts. Godspeed! Happy & safe pedaling !! Love you!!

  2. Another amazing day for you speeding down the road!! Keep it up girl, you’re doing
    great!!! We finally had a sunny & warm day in Newport News! Love,Judy

  3. God Bless you and what you are doing to spread the word and help to riaise money for this disease that reaches all of us! Head up and smiling 🙂

Leave a Reply

