Day 30: Buh-bye, Texas hills!

Left Fredericksburg on a chilly 40s morning headed to Austin–yes, Texas. It can be a dilemma dressing in the morning if it’s cold; is it one jacket, two jackets, long sleeves, short sleeves, headband, which gloves, etc. etc. I love my bike bag, not just for snacks, but carrying excess clothes!!

photo 4
Found the famous Texas Bluebonnets, a Longhorn Steer, and a nice (yes, nice!!) hotel (La Quinta) all on one 77 mile ride. It was our last ride in the Texas Hill Country and there are no tears here, my friends. Climbed over 4500 feet today and after today, our cycling maps do not include elevations.  Now that is a good thing!  I will say I feel stronger than I did when we started March 7, and definitely more tan, despite wearing sunscreen 70 and zinc 50 on my face!!

photo 2 photo 1 photo 3
We still have 5 more riding days in Texas. That will take us to the last third of this journey!
My Alzheimer’s fundraising is now $6896 toward my $10,000 goal!!
Thank each of you for your likes and notes to my Blogs–I read them all and they continue to inspire me to pedal even when I am tired!!
Love,
Rona

2 thoughts on “Day 30: Buh-bye, Texas hills!

  1. I am so proud of you and in awe of your passion, devotion to your mother, and stamina during this ride. You are an inspiration to me and to all who have been effected by this terrible disease. My beloved aunt Sissie had Alzheimers for four years. She died in 2001 at age 94. I was her caregiver, and my heart broke for her. I am there with you in spirit and wish I had the health to be there physically. Kepp on pedaling, Rona. We love you!

  2. Rona,
    So glad u had a nice visit with your friends . I took communion this morning in church and said a special prayer for you. I prayed for
    Continued strength for you as you travel. So very proud of you. Loved
    The pics iof the Longhorn and Blue
    Bonnets. So glad the hotel was better. Safe travels. Sending love,
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

