Forty Days and Forty Nights

photo 5I woke to a beautiful blue sky, 40’s and windy morning. Ah, a rest day–something I have learned to embrace to prepare me for the next days of riding. Our cottage called the Pond is peaceful and of course I woke up early and made coffee and planned breakfast. My cottage mates were not up so I tried to be quiet.  That’s much easier being in a house setting. Thanks to my friend Jo, I had matzo with butter and jam. Keeping Passover just can’t happen on this trip but I have my matzo and will make my box last a week. I did read the story of Passover on my iPad and it made me grateful for all of God’s blessing. He has been my strength on this journey, sending me wonderful friends to support me along the way.

photo 4 photo 3 photo 2 photo 1

 

Lunch was a lone surviving peanut butter sandwich I found in my bike bag with chips, nuts and a banana. I did not want to hop a ride into town–I’d much rather just chill here!  I went to the main B&B house and spoke with Anne who runs the lodge, which has been in her family since 1780.  Charming, with character, of course. The cottages (8) were added later.  I also met Rosemary and Emma, who have taken care of the cottages for over 20 years. They are born and raised here in Saint Francisville, LA. Delightful ladies, and we had nice conversation.  They told me how the place was full with Katrina victims and how challenging those months were for the B&B. The grounds are beautiful, but right now noisy with the sounds of a strong wind. Tomorrow it’s a 90 mile ride into Hammond, LA– hoping for tailwinds!!
Thank you again for your needed support and prayers.
Love, Rona

More pics of St Francisville and The Pond

photo 3 (7) photo 2 (8) photo 1 (8) photo 4 (4)

2 thoughts on “Forty Days and Forty Nights

  1. So good to talk with you today , you sound good and strong. Keep up the good work and most of all keep your strength
    Up. Enjoy your new scenery and I am sending tail winds to you.
    Live, Jamie,, I hope you read all your
    Blogs today?

  2. I took your place Monday night in the Altschuler household of celebrating Passover. It was my first Passover and it was fun! Learned a lot and you were most definitely missed, but you were with us in spirit. Glad I got to talk to you Monday 🙂

Leave a Reply

