Day 45: Living it up, Gulf Coast style!

April 20 Sunday

photo 3
Got an early start to a short ride 40 miles to Dauphin Island, Alabama to enjoy our day and rest day tomorrow at Dauphin Island Beach Club a timeshare Resort!!  We have 5 in our condo with a view of the Gulf on a sunny 75 degree day!!  We biked across a long bridge to the island, and when we leave on Tuesday, we will take a ferry to Florida on route to Pensacola!

photo 4photo 2 photo 1 photo
I had my peanut butter sandwich on the balcony and took a walk with Jeannie to a small market for some food for tomorrow (I found a subway so I am set for lunch for tomorrow). I really don’t like going out to eat, especially with the condo balcony view.   So, I am checking out at the register (with my bag of pretzels) at this tiny market and a woman behind me asked if we were biking? I told her about our trip and SHE asked if I was doing it for a charity. I told her my ride was for Alzheimer’s and I immediately saw her eyes tear up.  She told me her father-in-law died last year of Alzheimer’s and he was like a father to her.  Her name is Kimberly from Baton Rouge, visiting Dauphin Island for a little vacation. What a kind and special lady for the love she had for her father-in-law and how devastating Alzheimer’s was in her life, too!!!  My journey continues and people continue to find me who are touched by this horrible disease. I am grateful when I meet strangers touched by Alzheimer’s and blessed that they touch my life.

Know that each of you is a driving force in my journey and together we can make a difference!
With appreciation and love,
Rona

5 thoughts on “Day 45: Living it up, Gulf Coast style!

  1. Hey Girl Nice view finally. So happy for you. You Are so close to the finish, only about 9 days Left!! Wow? You are amazing !! I can’t wait for you to get home and have a Real sit down meal that you will love to Eat. 🙂 So Glad you are getting a Ferry ride so you Can rest from riding a little! Take care of you and stay safe. You are Getting it done!! Love, Jamie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Wonderful catching up on the blog…am up to date now. Enjoy the warm weather and the
    rest of your day. Love, “Jo”

    • It has been sooo relaxing some pals came over in the morning for coffee we walked into the town very small , and we ate subway on our Balcony!! Washed my bike always fun
      Love Ro

  3. Rona, it was such a pleasure meeting you and Jeannie on Sunday. Chatting with you was so enjoyable; you are definitely a kindred spirit. I love your energy and warm heart. I’m so impressed and inspired by your courageous and monumental bicycling effort, and for the wonderful charity you chose. I’ll keep up with your blog and look forward to staying in touch. Gavin and I wish you an easy ride and lovely weather. Best, Kimberly

Leave a Reply

